Skip to main content

Wapato School District

Mobile Menu Toggle
graduating seniors walking in a line outside high school in the caps and gowns

Golden Apple Awards

Nomination Criteria

The Wapato School Board is now accepting applications for its employee(s) of the year recognition program called the ”Golden Apple Award”.   This award is an important recognition of the extraordinary contributions District employees have made to the betterment and the advancement of the Wapato School District, its students and the Wapato Community.

Anyone (staff, student, parent, administrator, patron, stakeholder, etc.) can submit a nomination and any current full-time or part-time Wapato School District employee can be nominated for a Golden Apple Award.  Your nominee should exemplify the standards and core values that the District has identified as important.  Only completed nomination forms will be considered.  (Please download and print the nomination form seen below)

Please submit your nominee to the Wapato School Board no later than 4:00 p.m. Friday, March 20, 2020.  Staff & students may send completed nomination forms via inner-office District mail to the District’s Community Relations Coordinator, Mike Balmelli at the District Print Shop.  You may also send your nominations as an email attachment to  Another option is to drop them off or mail them to the Wapato School District Central Office, 212 W. 3rd Street, Wapato, WA 98951 in care of Mike Balmelli, Community Relations Coordinator

The 2019-2020 recipients will be announced prior to a recognition banquet scheduled for April 15, 2020.

We thank you for your cooperation and participation.

2019-2020 Nomination Form

2018-2019 Golden Apple Award Recipients

Golden Apple Aware recipients pose for photo
2018-2019 Golden Apple Award Recipients pictured left to right: District Community Relations/Title 1 Parent Engagement Coordinator Mike Balmelli, Retiring High School/Middle School Band Teacher Don Moore, Retiring Superintendent Becky Imler, District Print Shop Operator Jessica Torres, Adams Elementary School Head Custodian James Bobb and Kindergarten Teacher Linda Rucker.

2017-2018 Golden Apple Award Recipients

Golden Apple Award Winners
Pictured Left to Right: Bus Driver Don Groth, Middle School Custodian Mike Catron, District Speech Pathologist Gina Jacob, Retiring Administrator Dan Murray, GEAR UP Advisor Jose Gutierrez

2016-2017 Golden Apple Award Recipients

2016-2017 Golden Apple Award recipients pose for picture
2016-2017 Golden Apple Award Recipients pictured left to right: Wapato High School Teacher Chris Beyrouty, Middle School Teacher Erin Gonzalez, Wapato High School Custodian Joe Shields, Camas Elementary School Teacher Angelina Rocha, and Elementary School Teacher Gerene Sadberry.