Skip to main content

Wapato School District

Mobile Menu Toggle
graduating seniors walking in a line outside high school in the caps and gowns
About Us » About the District

About the District

The Wapato School District is in Yakima County which is located in the central part of Washington State.  The majority of the Wapato School District boundaries sit within the confines of the Yakama Indian Reservation.

Wapato Public Schools serve about 3,100 students.  It is a culturally diverse region with a student demographic that is 73% Hispanic/Latino, 30% American Indian, 2% White and 2% Asian.  100% of Wapato students are served by the  free/reduced lunch program.

The District has four elementary schools.  Simcoe Elementary which serves grades K-2,  Adams Elementary serving grades 3-5, Camas Elementary serving grades K-2 and housing the District's WELCOME Preschool program and Satus Elementary serving grades 3-5.  It has one middle school (Wapato Middle School) servings grades 6-8, one high school (Wapato High School) serving grades 9-12 and one alternative high school (PACE High School). 

Wapato Public Schools is one of the Wapato community's largest employers with a staff of about 400. 

The mission of Wapato Public Schools: Preparing Students for Success in the Global Economy.